History GK Quiz-63

History GK Quiz-63

History Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) Quiz for State and UPSC Civil Services Examinations. Objective Questions on History for competitive examinations.

    181. Humayun had to run away from India after he was defeated in the battle of

    (1) Panipat 
    (2) Gogra
    (3) Khanwa 
    (4) Kannauj
    181. (4) Sher Shah defeated Humayun in the Battle of Kannauj (Chausa) in 1540 and established the rule of Suri Dynasty (1540-1555).

    182. Krishnadevaraya built the Krishnaswami temple in Hampi, which is situated in the present state of:

    (1) Karnataka
    (2) Calcutta
    (3) Jammu and Kashmir
    (4) Kerala
    182. (1) Hampi is in Karnataka. Hampi has been declared as World Heritage Site.

    183. Who among the following was the last Delhi Sultan ?

    (1) Sikandar Lodi
    (2) Daulat Khan Lodi
    (3) Rana Sanga
    (4) Ibrahim Lodi
    183. (4) Babur defeated Ibrahim Lodi (1517-1526) in the first Battle of Panipat and established the rule of Mughals.

    184. Who among the following was defeated by Prithvi Raj Chauhan in the first battle of Tarain ?

    (1) Balban
    (2) Muhammad Ghori
    (3) Mahmud of Ghazni
    (4) Iltutmish
    184. (2) Prithvi Raj Chauhan defeated Muhammad Ghori in the first Battle of Tarain in 1191 AD.

    185. Babur was succeeded to the Mughal throne by :

    (1) Sher Shah
    (2) Akbar
    (3) Humayun
    (4) Bahadur Shah
    185. (3) Babur (1526–30) was succeeded by his son Humayun (1530–40 and 1555–56).

    186. Rajatarangini was written by

    (1) Kalhana 
    (2) Alberuni
    (3) Harsha Vardhana
    (4) Kautilya
    186. (1) Kalhan, a Kashmiri, was the author of Rajatarangini (Chronicle of Kings), an account of the history of Kashmir. He wrote the work in Sanskrit between 1148 and 1149.

    187. Who is regarded as the second Alexander ?

    (1) Jalal-ud-din Khilji
    (2) Mubarak Khilji
    (3) Khusru Khan
    (4) Ala-ud-din Khilji
    187. (4) Considered one of the greatest of the Sultans of Delhi, Ala-ud-din Khalji came to power in a bloody coup. He prefixed the title of Sikandar Sani which means the Second Alexander.

    188. Who discovered the sea-route to India ?

    (1) Vasco da Gama
    (2) Columbus
    (3) Magellan
    (4) Henry the Navigator
    188. (1) Portuguese sailor Vasco da Gama discovered the sea-route to India.

    189. Which one of the following monuments in Delhi is not included as a World Heritage Site?

    (1) Red Fort
    (2) Humayun’s Tomb
    (3) Qutab Minar
    (4) Jantar Mantar
    189. (4) Red Fort (2007); Humayun’s Tomb (1993); Qutab Minar (1993). Jantar Mantar of Jaipur was included as World Heritage Site in 2010.

    190. Who got the Gita translated into Persian ?

    (1) Shah Jahan 
    (2) Akbar
    (3) Murad 
    (4) Dara Shikoh
    190. (4) Dara Shikoh translated the Gita into Persian.

    191. Rana Pratap Singh of Mewar was defeated by the Mughal army in the battle of

    (1) Mewar 
    (2) Chittor
    (3) Haldighati 
    (4) Udaipur
    191. (3) Rana Pratap Singh of Mewar was defeated by the Mughal Emperor Akbar in the battle of Haldighati in 1576.

    192. Who among the following attacked the Somnath temple ?

    (1) Mahmud of Ghazni
    (2) Muhammad Ghori
    (3) Iltutmish
    (4) Qutbuddin Aibak
    192. (1) Mahmud of Ghazni

    193. The ‘Sun Temple’ of Konark is in the State of

    (1) Odisha
    (2) Jharkhand
    (3) Andhra Pradesh
    (4) Madhya Pradesh
    193. (1) Odisha

    194. Prithviraj Chauhan was defeated by Mohd. Ghori in the battle of

    (1) Tarain in 1191 A.D.
    (2) Tarain in 1192 A.D.
    (3) Chandawar in 1193 A.D.
    (4) Ranthambhor in 1195 A.D.
    194. (2) Prithviraj Chauhan was defeated by Muhammad Ghori in the second battle of Tarain (1192). This battle is regarded as one of the turning points of Indian history as it led to the Muslim occupation in India.

    195. Famous Battle of Talikota was fought in

    (1) 1565 A.D. 
    (2) 1575 A.D.
    (3) 1585 A.D. 
    (4) 1570 A.D.
    195. (1) Famous Battle of Talikota was fought in 1565 between the combined armies of Bahmani sultans and Vijayanagara empire. Bahmani sultans inflicted a crushing defeat on the Vijayanagara armies, Rama Raya was captured and beheaded.

    196. Who amongst the following succeeded Aurangzeb?

    (1) Azam 
    (2) Kam Baksh
    (3) Akbar II 
    (4) Mauzzam
    196. (4) In the war of succession that followed the death of Aurangzeb in 1707, Prince Muazzam, came out to be successful and ascended the throne under the name Bahadur Shah.

    197. Bibi-Ka-Maqbara is located in India .at

    (1) Fatehpur Sikri
    (2) Aurangabad
    (3) Hyderabad
    (4) Jaunpur
    197. (2) Bibi-Ka-Maqbara is located in Aurangabad, Maharashtra. It is the tomb of wife of Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb.

    198. Where did Aurangzeb die ?

    (1) Pune 
    (2) Aurangabad
    (3) Ahmad Nasar 
    (4) Mumbai
    198. (3) Aurangzeb died in Ahmednagar in the state of Maharashtra in 1707 at the age of 88. His modest open-air grave in Khuldabad is located in the courtyard of the shrine of the Sufi saint Shaikh Burhamu’d-din Gharib, who was a disciple of Nizamuddin Auliya of Delhi.

    199. The first Sultan who requested and obtained letters of investiture from the Caliph (Khalifa) was

    (1) Iltutmish
    (2) Balban
    (3) Firuz Tughluq
    (4) Alauddin Khilji
    199. (1) Sultan Iltutmish was the first to obtain letter of investiture from Abbasid Caliphate in 1229 A.D. The sanction recognized him as the lieutenant of the faithful. 

    200. Which Sultan received a robe of honour from the caliph ?

    (1) Ala-ud-din Khilji
    (2) Iltutmish
    (3) Balban
    (4) Qutub-ud-din Aibak
    200. (2) Iltutmish received confirmation of his robe of honour and title Nasir amir al-mu'minin (Helper of the Commander of the Faithful) from the 'Abbasid Caliph al-Mustansir in 626 (1229) and remained on the throne for twenty-six years. This added an element of strength to Iltutmish's authority and gave him a status in the Muslim world.

    यह भी देखे:

    Post a Comment