Indian Polity GK Quiz-30

Indian Polity GK Quiz-30

Indian Polity Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) Quiz for State and UPSC Civil Services Examinations. Objective Questions on Indian Polity for competitive examinations.

    301. The Speaker of the Lok Sabha can be removed from his office by _______

    (1) The President
    (2) The Prime Minister
    (3) a resolution passed by both Houses of Parliament
    (4) a resolution passed by the Lok Sabha
    301. (4) As per Article 94 of Indian constitution, a member holding office as Speaker or Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha may be removed from his office by a resolution of the House of the People passed by a majority of all the then members of the House. The same article states that no resolution for the purpose shall be moved unless at least fourteen days’ notice has been of the intention to move the resolution.

    302. Lok Sabha Secretariat comes under the direct control of

    (1) Ministry of Home Affairs
    (2) Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
    (3) Speaker of Lok Sabha
    (4) President
    302. (3) The Lok Sabha Secretariat is an independent body which functions under the ultimate guidance and control of the Speaker of Lok Sabha. In the discharge of his/her constitutional and statutory responsibilities, the Speaker is assisted by the Secretary-General, Lok Sabha and other officers and staff of the Secretariat at various levels.

    303. Who decides disputes regarding disqualification of members of Parliament?

    (1) The Supreme Court
    (2) The Election Commission
    (3) The Prime Minister in Consultation with the Election Commission
    (4) The President in Consultation with the Election Commission
    303. (4) Disqualification in matters relating to defection is decided by the Speaker or the Chairman of the House depending upon whether it is Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha. In matters relating to corrupt practices, it is the President who, in consultation with the Election Commission, passes the final orders even if the dispute is adjudicated by the Courts.

    304. What is the minimum age for membership to Rajya Sabha?

    (1) 20 years 
    (2) 25 years
    (3) 30 years 
    (4) 35 years
    304. (3) According to Article 84(b) of Indian constitution, the minimum age for membership to Rajya Sabha is 30 years. The same article adds that the minimum age qualification for Lok Sabha is 25 years. The Rajya Sabha is the permanent house of parliament that is not subject to dissolution.

    305. What is the total strength of the Rajya Sabha?

    (1) 250 
    (2) 260
    (3) 270 
    (4) 280
    305. (1) The Rajya Sabha or Council of States is the upper house of the Parliament of India. Membership of Rajya Sabha is limited by the Constitution to a maximum of 250 members, and current laws have provision for 245 members. Members sit for staggered six-year terms, with one third of the members retiring every two years. 

    306. The largest committee of Parliament of India is

    (1) Public Accounts Committee
    (2) Estimates Committee
    (3) Committee on Public Undertakings
    (4) Joint Parliamentary Committee
    306. (2) The Estimates Committee is the largest parliamentary committee, consisting of 30 members who are elected by the Lok Sabha every year from amongst its members. It analyses the expenditure and revenue estimates of various departments and suggests alternative policies in order to bring about efficiency and economy in administration.

    307. The President can advance money to meet unforeseen expenses from the

    (1) Consolidated Fund of India
    (2) Grants of the Central Government
    (3) Aid from the Union Government
    (4) Contingency Fund
    307. (4) The Contingency Fund of India has been placed at the disposal of the President. He can advance money of this fund to meet unforeseen expenses and recover the same after due authorization by the parliament. The fund is held by the finance secretary on behalf of the president. Like the public account of India, it is also operated by executive action.

    308. A Unitary form of government is that in which all the powers are concentrated in the hands of

    (1) Local government
    (2) Central government
    (3) Provincial government
    (4) Panchayats
    308. (2) Unitary form is a form of government in which most or all of the governing power resides in a centralized government. The central government is supreme, and the administrative divisions exercise only powers that the central government has delegated to them.It contrasts with a federal system.

    309. Who has the power to prorogue the Lok Sabha ?

    (1) The Speaker
    (2) The Prime Minister
    (3) The Minister for Parliamentary Affairs
    (4) The President
    309. (4) As per Article 85 of Indian constitution, the President shall from time to time summon each House of Parliament to meet at such time and place as he thinks fit, but six months shall not intervene between its lasting sitting in one session and the date appointed for its first sitting in the next session. The same article adds that he may from time to time - l prorogue the Houses or either House;
    l dissolve the House of the People 

    310. According to the Indian Constitution, who has the power to declare emergency ?

    (1) Prime Minister
    (2) President
    (3) Chief Justice
    (4) Parliament
    310. (2) As per the articles 352, 356 and 360 in the Constitution of India, President of India has been given extraordinary power to declare an emergency to meet any threat to the country. The President can declare three types of emergencies : l National emergency (article 352); l State emergency (article 356);
    l Financial emergency (article 360). 

    311. A motion moved by Member of Parliament when he feels a minister has committed a breach of privilege of the House by withholding facts of a case is called

    (1) No confidence motion
    (2) Censure motion
    (3) Privilege motion
    (4) Cut motion
    311. (3) Privilege Motion is concerned with the breach of parliamentary privileges by a minister. It is moved by a member when he feels that a minister has committed a breach of privilege of the House or one or more of its members by withholding facts of a case or by giving wrong or distorted facts. Its purpose is to censure the concerned minister.

    312. The President of India is :

    (1) the Head of State
    (2) the Head of Government
    (3) the Head of State and Government
    (4) the Head of Parliament
    312. (1) The President of the Republic of India is the Head of State of India and the Commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. Besides, according to Article 79 of the Constitution of India, the President is part of parliament along with Council of States (Rajya Sabha) and House of the People (Lok Sabha).

    313. President of India can be removed from his office by

    (1) Prime Minister of India
    (2) Chief Justice of India
    (3) Parliament
    (4) Lok Sabha
    313. (3) According to Article 61 of Indian constitution, the President may also be removed before the expiry of the term through impeachment for violating the Constitution of India. The process may start in either of the two houses of the Parliament. The house initiates the process by levelling the charges against the President.

    314. Who presides over the sitting of the House of People ?

    (1) The Vice Present
    (2) The Chief Justice of India
    (3) The Speaker
    (4) The President
    314. (3) Each House of Parliament has its own presiding officer. As per Article 93 of Indian Constitution, the Lok Sabha has a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker as its presiding officers. The Speaker is the head of the Lok Sabha and enjoys supreme authority within the House.

    यह भी देखे:

    Post a Comment