Indian Polity GK Quiz-7

Indian Polity GK Quiz-7

Indian Polity Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) Quiz for State and UPSC Civil Services Examinations. Objective Questions on Indian Polity for competitive examinations.

    21. Which State enjoys the distinction of being the first linguistic state of India ?

    (1) West Bengal
    (2) Andhra Pradesh
    (3) Tamil Nadu
    (4) Kerala
    21. (2) The States Reorganization Commission (SRC) was a body constituted by the Central Government of India in 1953 to recommend the reorganization of state boundaries along the linguistic lines. Andhra State was created on October 1, 1953 from the Teluguspeaking northern districts of Madras Presidency. On November 1, 1956 it was merged with the Telangana region of Hyderabad State to form the united Telugu-speaking state of Andhra Pradesh.

    22. The number of Union Territories in India is

    (1) 5 
    (2) 7
    (3) 9 
    (4) 6
    22. (2) India is a federal union of states comprising twenty eight states and seven union territories. The seven Union Territories are: Andaman and Nicobar Islands; Chandigarh; Dadra and Nagar Haveli; Daman and Diu; Lakshadweep; National Capital Territory of Delhi; and Pondicherry.

    23. Which of the following is not a Union Territory ?

    (1) Pondicherry
    (2) Nagaland
    (4) Daman and Diu
    (4) Lakshadweep
    23. (2) Nagaland was given the status of State of Indian Union in 1961 and it was formally inaugurated on December 1, 1963.

    24. Special status to Jammu and Kashmir is given by the Indian Constitution under the article

    (1) 364 
    (2) 368
    (3) 370 
    (4) 377
    24. (3) Article 370 of the Indian constitution is a law that grants special autonomous status to Jammu and Kashmir. This article specifies that except for Defence, Foreign Affairs, Finance and Communications, the Indian Parliament needs the State Government’s concurrence for applying all other laws. Thus the state’s residents lived under a separate set of laws, including those related to citizenship, ownership of property, and fundamental rights, as compared to other Indians.

    25. The unification of Karnataka was achieved in the year

    (1) 1956 
    (2) 1957
    (3) 1958 
    (4) 1960
    25. (1) The Unification of Karnataka refers to the formation of the Indian state of Karnataka, then named Mysore State, in 1956 when several Indian states were created by redrawing borders based on linguistic demographics. It took place on the basis of the recommendations of the Fazal Ali Committee.

    26. A federal government is in the shape of

    (1) Command by the Centre
    (2) Appeal from the States
    (3) Agreement between the Centre and the States
    (4) Single Party Rule
    26.(3) A federation is a political entity characterized by a union of partially self-governing states or regions under a central (federal) Government. The governmental or constitutional structure found in a federation is marked by agreement between the centre and the states.

    27. The main feature of the Federal State is

    (1) Decentralisation
    (2) Centralisation
    (3) Theory of separation of powers
    (4) Sovereignty
    27. (1) Decentralization is one of the key features of a federal state. In a federal state, sovereignty and the power to govern are constitutionally divided between a central governing authority and constituent political units (such as states or provinces).

    28. Which Committee/Commission examined the Centre and State relationship ?

    (1) Ashok Mehta Committee
    (2) Indrajit Gupta Committee
    (3) Sarkaria Commission
    (4) N.N. Vohra Committee
    28. (3) Sarkaria Commission was set up in June 1983 to examine the relationship between state and central governments in India and suggest changes within the framework of Constitution. It was headed by Justice Rajinder Singh Sarkaria, a retired judge of the Supreme Court of India.

    29. The States reorganization in 1956 created __

    (1) 17 States and 6 Union Territories
    (2) 17 States and 9 Union Territories
    (3) 14 States and 6 Union Territories
    (4) 15 States and 9 Union Territories
    29. (3) The States Reorganization Act 1956 was a major reform of the boundaries of India’s states and territories, organizing them along linguistic lines. It divided the country into 14 states and 6 union territories. The Act was implemented in November, 1956.

    30. Which of the following is not a Union Territory ?

    (1) Dadra and Nagar Haveli
    (2) Lakshadweep
    (3) Puducherry
    (4) Nagaland
    30. (4) Nagaland is a state in Northeast India. It was formally inaugurated as a state on 1 December 1963 and Kohima was declared as its capital. It borders the state of Assam to the west, Arunachal Pradesh and part of Assam to the north, Burma to the east and Manipur to the south.

    31. How many states are there in the Indian Union?

    (1) 27 
    (2) 28
    (3) 30 
    (4) 29
    31. (4) India is a federal union of states comprising twenty-nine states and seven union territories. Telangana split from Andhra Pradesh to become the newest — 29th — State of India on 2nd June 2014 with Hyderabad as the shared capital.

    32. The Name of the Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands was changed, to Lakshadweep by an act of parliament in : 

    (1) 1973 
    (2) 1970
    (3) 1971 
    (4) 1972
    32. (1) In 1956, during the reorganization of Indian states, the Lakshadweep islands were organized into a separate union territory for administrative purposes. The name of this Union Territory was changed to Lakshadweep with effect from November 1, 1973.

    33. Which was the first linguistic state to be created?

    (1) Kerala
    (2) Tamil Nadu
    (3) Andhra Pradesh
    (4) Maharashtra
    33. (3) Andhra State was the first state that was created on linguistic basis for Telugu speaking people out of Madras State on October 1, 1953. This followed the long-drawn agitation and death of Potti Sriramulu after a hunger strike for 56 days. Then, the States Reorganisation Act 1956 formed Andhra Pradesh by merging Andhra State with the Telugu-speaking areas of the already existing Hyderabad State.

    34. The Jammu and Kashmir State Legislative Assembly has a tenure of ______

    (1) Six years 
    (2) Five years
    (3) Four years
    (4) Seven years
    34. (1) The Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly has a tenure of six years unless sooner dissolved. The assembly may be dissolved before the completion of the six-year term by the Governor upon the advice of the Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir. It has 87 members.

    35. The’ Narmada Water Dispute Tribunal’ was constituted to resolve the water sharing between

    (1) Gujarat and Rajasthan
    (2) Gujarat and Maharashtra
    (3) Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh
    (4) Gujarat and Daman and Diu
    35. (3) Under the Inter-State Water Disputes Act, 1956, the Central Government constituted Narmada Water Disputes Tribunal (NWDT) on 6 October 1969 to adjudicate upon the sharing of Narmada waters and for Narmada River valley development between the four States of Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Rajasthan.

    यह भी देखे:

    Post a Comment