World Geography GK Quiz-8

World Geography GK Quiz-8

World Geography Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) Quiz for State and UPSC Civil Services Examinations. Objective Questions on World Geography for competitive examinations.

    Question: Which of the following countries does not have a border with Afghanistan?

    (1) Iran 
    (2) Georgia
    (3) Turkmenistan 
    (4) Uzbekistan
    Answer: (2) Georgia
    Afghanistan, officially the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, is a landlocked country forming part of South Asia, Central Asia, and to some extent Western Asia. It is bordered by Pakistan in the south and the east, Iran in the west, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan in the north, and China in the far northeast.

    Question: New Britain and New Ireland are parts of–

    (1) USA
    (2) Canada
    (3) Australia
    (4) Papua New Guinea
    Answer: (4) Papua New Guinea
    Papua New Guinea is in the South Pacific and lies directly north of Australia. To the north east of mainland Papua New Guinea lies the mysterious and beautiful New Ireland Province. New Ireland is the long narrow Island north of New Britain and the province also includes a number of islands off the north west end, the largest being New Hanover. To the East lie a further string of islands including Lihir, one of the world’s largest gold mines.

    Question: The countries separated by the Mac-Mahon Line are

    (1) Afghanistan and Pakistan
    (2) Bangladesh and India
    (3) China and India
    (4) Pakistan and India
    Answer: (3) China and India
    The McMahon Line is a line agreed to by Britain and Tibet as part of the Shimla Accord, a treaty signed in 1914. It is the effective boundary between China and India, although its legal status is disputed by the Chinese government. The line is named after Sir Henry McMahon, foreign secretary of the British-run Government of India and the chief negotiator of the convention. It extends for 550 miles (890 km) from Bhutan in the west to 160 miles (260 km) east of the great bend of the Brahmaputra River in the east, largely along the crest of the Himalayas. The McMahon Line is regarded by India as the legal national border. It is disputed by China. As recently as 2003, the Dalai Lama said that the disputed region was part of Tibet, but he reversed his position in 2008, acknowledging the legitimacy of the McMahon Line and the Indian claim to the region.

    Question: Bosnia-Herzegovina formed the parts of

    (1) Czechoslovakia
    (2) Yugoslavia
    (3) Bulgaria
    (4) Azerbaijan
    Answer: (2) Yugoslavia
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, sometimes called BosniaHerzegovina, is a country in Southeastern Europe, on the Balkan Peninsula. Following the dissolution of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, the country proclaimed independence in 1992, which was followed by the Bosnian War, lasting until late 1995.

    Question: Name the sea whose boundaries touch three Continents.

    (1) Mediterranean Sea
    (2) Red Sea
    (3) Caspian Sea
    (4) Caribbean Sea
    Answer: (1) Mediterranean Sea
    The Mediterranean Sea is a sea connected to the Atlantic Ocean surrounded by the Mediterranean region and almost completely enclosed by land: on the north by Europe and Anatolia, on the south by North Africa, and on the east by the Levant which includes most of modern Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, State of Palestine, Israel, Cyprus, Hatay Province of Turkey, some regions of northwestern Iraq and the Sinai Peninsula.

    Question: The two countries connected by a tunnel under the sea are

    (1) England and France
    (2) France and Denmark
    (3) Australia and New Zealand
    (4) Spain and Italy
    Answer: (1) England and France
    The Channel Tunnel is a 50.5-kilometre (undersea rail tunnel) linking Folkestone, Kent, in the United Kingdom with Coquelles, Pas-de-Calais, near Calais in northern France beneath the English Channel at the Strait of Dover.

    Question: Which of the following countries are connected by the Palk Strait?

    (1) India and Sri Lanka
    (2) North Korea and South Korea
    (3) Pakistan and China
    (4) Britain and France
    Answer: (1) India and Sri Lanka
    Palk Strait is a strait between the Tamil Nadu state of India and the Mannar district of the Northern Province of the island nation of Sri Lanka. It connects the Bay of Bengal in the northeast with the Palk Bay and thence with the Gulf of Mannar in the southwest. It is studded at its southern end with a chain of low islands and reef shoals that are collectively called Adam's Bridge.

    Question: Which countries are separated by the 49th parallel ?

    (1) USA and Canada
    (2) USA and Mexico
    (3) France and Germany
    (4) Russia and China
    Answer: (1) USA and Canada
    The 49th Parallel separates United States of America and Canada.

    Question: Which one of the following is not a line of demarcation between two countries?

    (1) International Date Line
    (2) MacMahon Line
    (3) Radcliffe Line
    (4) Durand Line
    Answer: (1) International Date Line
    The International Date Line (IDL) is an imaginary line on the surface of the Earth from the north to the south pole and demarcates one calendar day from the next. It passes through the middle of the Pacific Ocean, roughly following the 180° longitude but it deviates to pass around some territories and island groups.

    Post a Comment